14.4 C
February 27, 2020
Nation Today's report

Arvind Kejriwal invites PM Modi for swearing-in ceremony on Feb 16

TPE Correspondent

New Delhi, February 14

Arvind Kejriwal has invited PM Modi for his swearing-in ceremony on February 16 in New Delhi. AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal, who spearheaded the party’s landslide victory in the Delhi Assembly polls, will take oath as the chief minister for the third consecutive time in a grand public ceremony Delhi’s iconic Ramlila Maidan, amid indications all the outgoing ministers will be retained in the seven-member cabinet.

In the Delhi assembly election, Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP won in 62 of the 70 seats with a total vote share of 53.57 per cent. PM Modi’s BJP emerged victorious in the remaining eight seats, getting 38.51 per cent of the total votes. Meanwhile, Congress could not even manage a single seat and ended with 4.26 per cent vote share.

The AAP’s stupendous victory comes nearly eight months after it suffered a severe drubbing in the Lok Sabha polls in which the party drew a blank while the BJP won all the seven seats.

It was earlier said the no politician will be invited for Kejriwal’s oath-taking ceremony. Kejriwal will take oath as chief minister for a third term in a “Delhi-specific” ceremony, AAP’s Delhi unit convener Gopal Rai had said on Thursday. “No chief minister or political leader from other states will be invited for the ceremony that is going to be specific to Delhi,” Gopal Rai had said.

Meanwhile, AAP has also invited a special guest — the one-year-old ‘baby Kejriwal’ who shot to fame after he was spotted at the AAP office dressed like Kejriwal — an AAP cap, spectacles, a sweater and muffler and even sported a moustache. The AAP went on to call him the mini version ‘Mufflerman’.

The oath-taking ceremony will be held at 10 am at the very same historic ground from where 51-year-old Kejriwal along with Anna Hazare led a massive anti-corruption agitation in 2011.

All the newly elected party MLAs have been asked by party leaders to ensure huge participation from their constituencies, according to party sources. AAP won 62 seats in the 70-member Assembly with the BJP accounting for the remaining 8 and the Congress drawing a blank.

Till now, AAP has sent an invitation to only Prime Minister Modi, among politicians, to attend Kejriwal’s swearing-in in Delhi on February 16.

Related posts

Jio offers ‘Happy New year’ unlimited services plan in Rs 2020 per year


Govt to nudge vehicle owners get third-party insurance


India to play first ever Day & Night Test match at Kolkata


Leave a Comment